Clinton Township

PO Box 231, 315 W. Adams, Waterman, Illinois 60556
815-264-3689 | |

Clinton Township


Mailing Address: PO Box 231, Waterman, IL 60556

Location: 315 W. Adams Street in Waterman

Phone: 815-264-3689


The Clinton Township Board meets at 7 p.m. on the last Tuesday of the month in the Township Building, 315 W. Adams Street, Waterman.


Clinton Township was established on Nov. 6, 1849, and is one of nineteen townships located in DeKalb County, Illinois. When the township organization was adopted in 1850, the boundaries also included one-half of Victor and Afton townships. In 1853, Clinton Township was reduced to its present dimensions, a total area of 35.3 square miles and 59 miles of roadway. As of the 2010 census, the population of the township was 1,868 with 758 housing units.

Clinton Township maintains two cemeteries. Johnson Grove Cemetery is located southwest of Waterman on Shabbona Grove Road, and North Clinton Cemetery is north of Waterman on Lee Road. The Clinton Township Community Center is located at 160 W. Lincoln Hwy in Waterman, and the Clinton Township Public Library is located at 110 S. Elm Street. The township is served by Indian Creek Community School District 425.

Township responsibilities include 1) the assessment of real property for the basis of local taxation, 2) general assistance for qualifying residents, and 3) the maintenance of roads and bridges in the township outside federal, state, and other local jurisdiction.